Pune

From Mumbai to the Outside World

As the train races across the landscape, swaying side –to-side, a constant reminder of my means of travel and where I am, I can’t help but notice how dark the landscape is.  A light bulb pierces through the darkness here and there, but there are not far off lights of cities, towns or villages.  A dim haze indicates as we pass through a station, but the in-between is darkness.  I am on the train back to Mumbai from Pune, a small (by Indian standards, perhaps) city about 3 hours from Mumbai.  I went for work, and was amazed by how small, clean and calm it seemed.

Leaving Mumbai is always a bit startling.  Going from the maximum city to any other place makes everything else seems calm and orderly.  While Pune seemed small, it is a city of nearly 5 million people.  How can something that size seem so small?  A skewed perspective, I suppose.  Or just the after effects of any significant amount of time spent in Mumbai.

Remembering back even just a month, I thought Mumbai was too crazy and something I couldn’t handle for much longer.  But the past month has brought some type of serenity to the city, or maybe just to my experience here.  I no longer am as frustrated by the hordes on the trains, or the streets.  I take everything that happens on the street here with a grain of salt, and have made friends who sometimes are also as puzzled as I am by the place that is Mumbai.

This entry was published on August 20, 2012 at 9:42 pm. It’s filed under India, Mumbai and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “From Mumbai to the Outside World

  1. Would be interesting to hear more of your thoughts on how Pune seems small in spite of its Large size.

    ~n

Leave a Reply

