Reflecting on Incredible Experiences

Going through pictures the other day made me stop and think about the incredible experiences I have had and how lucky I am to have been able to have them.  At this point in my life, traveling seems like second nature.  I think I have been taking it for granted that I am able to see the world and start to understand how people live.  I don´t remember a time before I understood something about how things were different in other parts of the world and that I understood that I was a small part of something bigger.

The more I travel though and meet people, I realize how unusual the experiences I have had are.  While I may not have lived places for years at a time, I have lived in seven different countries: USA, Czech Republic, Mexico, Brazil, South Africa, Vietnam and India.  I have visited 24.  There are times that it just hits me how incredible that is.  I don’t know what I am necessarily looking to get out of each of these experiences, whether I am looking for the place I want to stay forever or whether I am just trying to get a better handle on what the world is, but I do know that each of these has taught me something.  I won’t deny that these have all been hard and that in the moment there were times I definitely wanted to retreat to something familiar, but I am incredibly glad that I have done what I have done.  I have no idea where I will go from here or where life will take me, but I know that I don’t regret the time I spent getting to know the world.  I am only 22 years old: hopefully life will continue to take me to places I can’t even yet imagine.

This entry was published on March 30, 2013 at 5:58 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Reflecting on Incredible Experiences

  1. Susan daniel on said:

    After living in many countries, I’ve decided that I’m trying to build my perfect place from the best parts of each place I’ve lived – like assembling a quilt. The lessons I’m taking from Brasil are: how to flirt and how to be easygoing and how to find silver linings.
    Everybody tries to draw out your personality and have some fun with you – flirting.
    They laugh at setbacks and, all of a sudden, they’re moving forward.
    If you can’t find a way to profit from every situation, then you need to try harder.
    So build your perfect place, honey. The more you add, the more able you are to better the world.
    Susan

    • Susan,

      Thanks so much for your insightful comment. You are so right about needing to see the silver lining in every situation. I love the idea of building the perfect place.

  2. When and where was your first travel?

    interesting to think of a time when you were not aware of the world in the way you now are.

    as i think about it “a time before I understood something about how things were different in other parts of the world” I recall national geographic, which i started reading when I was 6 or 7 and I think it was that that started to open my eyes. I have been looking at getting a National Geographic subscription for my girlfriend’s nieces and nephews.

    • I have been traveling for as long as I can remember (my first trip overseas was to South Africa when I was 2), but I did not enjoy it for a long time. I think it was my first trip to Europe when I was 11 or 12 that really had an impact on me. I had just started learning German and my parents charged me with communicating for us in Germany. I hadn’t realized what it would be like and how the experience would be different to be able to communicate with people in their own language. It wasn’t long after this trip that I heard about high school exchanges, which of course turned into a path that has completely changed my life.

      I remember also when someone’s dad came into my 8th grade class and talked about a trip he had taken to Bhutan. It was the first time I considered that part of the world, and his stories made me really want to travel there.

      It is interesting to think back to the beginning, but I am also amazed when I think about how my recent trips have changed me, or about how much more aware I am here in Brazil than I was when I went to India. Even the course of 10 months seems to make a huge difference! I can’t wait to see how things change over a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

